The village of Roydon is situated approximately 1 mile west from the market town of Diss on the border of Norfolk & Suffolk. The name Roydon means ‘Rye Hill’. The first reference to the village is in circa 1035 and it is also mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. More information can be found here.
The older part of the village is along Manor Road and Snow Street where several period properties are found. Brewers Green is a picturesque area with tranquil ponds, one of which is called ‘The Dipping Pond’. This area was mentioned in connection with the 1893 Roydon Riots against enclosure. It is common land where grazing rights are still upheld. To the south of the village is Roydon Fen, a local nature reserve.
(Acknowledgement to the Local History Group and St Remigius Church for the above information).
Roydon has a primary school that was built in 1896 for 150 pupils and has been considerably enlarged since that time. The Head of the school is Mrs Bradford. More information can be found here.
Roydon also benefits from a Village Hall which was built in 1988 on the site of the old ‘pavilion’. It is situated on High Road, Roydon (A1066). Information about hiring the hall can be found here.
The Church in Roydon is dedicated to St. Remigius who was Bishop of Rheims in France. It was built in circa 1140. The original Church consisted of a round Tower, Nave with no side aisles and possibly a small Chancel. More information can be found here.
Roydon is part of the Diss & District Neighbourhood Plan (DDNP).
Or visit the DDNP website at ddnp.info